I can’t believe how busy life got there for a while and what that did to my ability to think straight, haha! But today I’m back with the last of Paul’s prayers that I’ll be looking at (although it is probably one of his earliest letters according to scholars), this one again to the Thessalonians.

The prayer begins in the eleventh verse where Paul references the previous eight verses in which he spoke about their perseverance and faith.  He says, “With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may count you worthy of His calling, and that by his power he may fulfill every good purpose of yours and every act prompted by your faith. We pray this so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in Him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.”

Once again Paul begins his prayer letting the Thessalonians know that they are constantly on his heart and in his prayers. And then he encourages them to continue in their faith and love, despite their suffering and persecution so that they may be counted worthy of His calling (see 1:3, 5).  This made me wonder about my own calling and that of my family. I always think of “calling” as the jobs and assignments that God gives me; i.e. I’ve been called to be a mother. But here I see that it may be more broadly defined to include being called to love, to be faithful and humble, to make disciples, to have a joyful heart and on and on. Really it would include anything that God commands of all his people, these are our callings, because He has called us to be His. And Paul’s prayer here is to encourage them to be found worthy of these callings.  And so to pray that we and our families would be found worthy to be called “His” is an amazing thought.

And then Paul goes on to remind them through this prayer that it is by God’s power that they are able to accomplish the callings on their lives, fulfilling their purposes and acting in faith. One of the greatest things I can do for myself and my family is to remember that I can’t do anything on my own. It is only through the power of the Holy Spirit in me that I am able to love fully, live faithfully and do all that God has called me to do.

I love the last part of this prayer because it reminds me that everything I do, and everything my children do, should be done to the glory of Christ and that I should PRAY for that. This is a spiritual endeavor that the Lord would love to help me do. I just need to ask. And I’ve been doing that with the new adventure I’m undertaking. Recently I learned about essential oils and how they can support all the systems of your body. You can read my story here.  I became a distributor, not to get rich and famous, but to glorify Him who gave us these precious gifts. To share that God is the Great Physician and that He has given us tools for healing through His creation.

I’ve enjoyed looking at these prayers from Paul with you.  I hope you are praying them for yourself and your family, too. We’re coming up on the summer months so I won’t be in regular Bible Study at church. But I’m asking the Lord to bring me to another topic to study on my own and I will share it with you, too!

Blessings!

