Exodus 20:14 says, “You shall not commit adultery.” This might be another commandment that we think we’ve got no problem with, after all if you’ve never had an affair, you’re fine, right?  But then you read Matthew 5:27-30 “…I tell you, anyone who looks at a a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” What is Jesus saying here? And why?

I think this one also goes back to our discussion on being a people set apart for God. Jesus is telling us the physical act of adultery is the final culmination of a thought process that started with the lusting. That by simply thinking these kinds of thoughts we have already moved away from God and his intention of who we ought to be as His people. The kind of people who love their spouse, and only desire their spouse.

Luther writes “We should fear and love God so that we lead a sexually pure and decent life in what we say and do and husband and wife love and honor each other.”

Some thoughts to ponder, do I lead a sexually pure and decent life? Do I watch TV, movies, read books, look at things on the internet, that lead me to have an impure sexual thought life? Do I make comments or look at others in ways that are inappropriate? Do I love and honor my spouse so that a fleeting impure thought that enters my mind is quickly taken captive and dismissed?

Is your manger cluttered with any type of sexual sin? Pray for the Holy Spirit to remove it from your heart.

Father God, thank you for your gift of marriage and sexuality. Help me to always use this gift in God-honoring ways, as one set apart, as a child of God.

