If you’ve followed me from the beginning, you know that getting my kids to get all their chores done after school was an issue.  I seemed to have solved the problem with our chore tags which I blogged about here. School started this week and so the tags came back out, even if they were met with groans, haha.

One of the things my kids have had to do every day for several years is a 5-minute chore. This was my way of  teaching them the life skills of cleaning toilets, taking out the trash and other such jobs that I didn’t want to do, lol!   Really though I wanted them to not hate cleaning as much as I did, because in my mind it always takes ALL DAY to clean the toilet. I wanted them to realize that it only takes 5 minutes to do a quick swish and swipe in the bathroom 2 or 3 times a week and then it isn’t embarrassing to have friends over at the last minute.

So I make a list of their chores and what day they are to do them.  This way each bathroom is cleaned up 2-3 times a week, the main areas of the house are dusted a couple times a week, etc. It usually doesn’t even take 5 minutes to do them, which is fine with me since the goal is to stay on top of the cleaning but not HATE CLEANING.

This summer we started something new, Mom’s Choice. This was a day to do something that wasn’t routine, but needed to be done. I got to look around for a small task that they could tackle, like wiping down the door knobs and switchplates or washing fingerprints off the windows on the front and back doors.

I LOVED this and decided to make it a permanent part of the rotation. But I needed an easier way to manage it since I know I will forget who did what job from week to week, or struggle to come up with an idea as my sweet child stood in front of me waiting for their assignment. So I made a job jar.

I used a frosting tub as my “jar” and made a cover for it using a kit by DeDe Smith which you can get here. I printed out 18 small jobs on slips of paper.  On Wednesdays they will each grab a slip and do the job. The job slip will be put aside until all the jobs are done and then they will all go back into the jar for another go.  I am hoping to think of a few more things that could go in the jar because most of these things seem like “once a quarter” kind of things.  Any suggestions?

Until next time…

